Hiatus

Christian will be taking a hiatus from the AT beginning on Tuesday May 15th as he will return to Lexington, KY to attend my sister’s funeral. He will head back to the trail the following week. Please be gracious with us for our lack of posting during this time.

Christian has used some of his AT monies to purchase a bus ticket to come home and be with the family. Our family is very close and Christian spent a lot of time at the Spades table playing on the same team as my sister, or strategizing how to beat her.  Our games always ended in laughter.

Image

The following was my Facebook Status earlier this evening:

“Today, I had the distinct honor of being in the room at 4:35 PM when the doctor called time of death. I counted her fingers and toes again for old time’s sake and thanked God for His mercy and grace. She fought kidney disease for many years and God finally decided that she didn’t have to fight anymore. I’m hoping she is hanging out with my dad in Abraham’s Bosom talking about what a trippy life she led and marveling at how wonderful she feels for the first time in years. Please pray for my mom and my sister’s fiance who is devastated beyond words. And, pray for my brother. The single most difficult thing I have ever had to do in my entire life was to tell him our sister was gone. As for me…I serve a mighty God who has given me a peace that surpasses all understanding. I am walking in His grace. Incredibly sad and mournful, but eternally thankful for the time we had”.

Christian made it to Abingdon, VA today where his friend Pastor Jon Martin greeted him and spent the day with him.  I am so thankful for him being in town today because normally, I would not have been able to reach him due to lack of signal.  When he received the news he immediately wanted to be by my side.  But, we found a way for him to be here with us and still continue on the AT.  Chanda would have wanted him to carry on. She was rooting for him to make it to Mt. Katahdin.

Thank you in advance for your prayers and well wishes. We are thankful for God’s grace and peace.

Carpe Diem!

The Torps

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hiatus

  1. Carey Grace Henson says:

    My thoughts, prayers, and love are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

